Digital Lexicon of Feathers

Those who roam the outdoors with open eyes will find feathers in a variety of shapes and colors. But you won't always know which bird they belong to. For those of you interested in ornithology we developed the Father Gallery App, a helpful tool for the identification of birds and their feathers. Creative watercolor paintings turn the app into an impressive work of art. A must-have for every nature enthusiast!

Feather app on a mobile device
  • More than 900 high-res feather images
  • Tips and information for birdwatchers
  • Comprehensive text search with filter options

From Conceptualization to Implementation

The major challenge at the very beginning of the project was to consolidate the wealth of information and image data from the public feather database in a concise, yet high-performing mobile app.

Mood picture Feather app

User Experience and Design

The clear and easy-to-navigate Android app is the result of an iterative wireframing and design process. The illustrations, which were executed in great detail, combined with the elaborate watercolor paintings make the Feather Gallery app a unique, artistic experience.

Feather App on an iPhone
Feather App on an iPhone
Feather App on an iPhone

Identifying Feathers Even in the Remotest Places

To spot a very special bird, ornithology enthusiasts will venture to places without mobile coverage. In order to enable the identification of birds and bird feathers nevertheless, we implemented the function "download data". Thus, the Feather Gallery app remains a faithful and useful companion even on more adventurous explorations.

Mood picture Feather app

Digitales Federnlexikon

Wer mit offenen Augen die Natur durchstreift, findet Federn in vielfältigen Formen und Farben. Doch nicht immer ist bekannt, von welchem Vogel sie stammen. Für Ornithologie-Interessierte haben wir mit der Federngalerie App ein hilfreiches Tool für die Bestimmung von Vögeln und deren Federn entwickelt. Kunstvolle Aquarellbilder komplettieren die App zu einem eindrücklichen Gesamtwerk. Ein Must-have für jeden Natur-Fan!

Feder App auf einem mobilen Gerät
  • Ăśber 900 hochauflösende Federnbilder
  • Ratschläge und Informationen fĂĽr Ornithologie-Interessierte
  • Umfassende Textsuche mit Filtermöglichkeiten

Vom Konzept zur Umsetzung

Die grosse Herausforderung ganz zu Beginn des Projekts bestand darin, die Fülle an Informationen und Bilddaten den aus der öffentlichen Federndatenbank in einer übersichtlichen und zugleich performanten Mobile-App zu konsolidieren.

Stimmungsbild Feder App

User Experience und Design

Die übersichtliche und einfach zu navigierende Android App ist das Resultat eines iterativen Wireframing- und Designprozesses. Die detailreich angefertigten Illustrationen, kombiniert mit den aufwändigen Aquarellbildern machen die Ferderngalerie App zu einem einzigartigen, kunstvollen Erlebnis.

Feder App auf dem iPhone
Feder App auf dem iPhone
Feder App auf dem iPhone

Federnbestimmung auch an den abgelegensten Orten

Für ganz spezielle Funde begeben sich Ornithologie-Interessierte schon mal an Orte fernab von Mobilfunk-Antennen. Damit die Bestimmung von Vögeln und Vogelfedern auch dann möglich ist, haben wir die Funktion "Herunterladen der Daten" implementiert. Damit ist die Federngalerie App auch auf abenteuerlichen Erkundungstouren stets ein treuer und nützlicher Wegbegleiter.

Stimmungsbild Feder App